top of page
QOTD
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

.TESTING POUNDLAND MAKE-UP.

So I have seen these videos many many times over on Youtube and really fancied giving it a go myself only in blog form! I purchased myself a 'full face' of make up from my local 'Poundland' store and have finally gotten round to posting my thoughts and opinions! All the make up I have used is from the ' Make up gallery' collection.

So lets get started! *Disclaimer: I am in no way shape or form a MUA nor am I trying to be. All opinions are my own.

 

CONCEALER.

So I firstly applied the concealer stick under my eyes and on troubled red patches on my chin and around my nose area. The first thing I realised is that this concealer stick is rather hard. You almost have to apply more pressure than necessary when applying it and even then it left me feeling as though it was caked on my skin.

It seemed to blend out ok eventually although coverage wasn't good. I could still see the redness of my skin coming through afterwards and ended up applying another (thinner) layer over the top of the original to get a little more coverage.

 

FOUNDATION. The next step was foundation. I picked up the 'Gorgeous flawless' foundation in the shade 'warm ivory 2'. My plan was to purchase this product in the shade 'Ivory' however I was out of luck and this shade was the lightest they had in store. First impressions; this foundation is oily. I squirted an initial tester patch onto the back of my hand and was left with a gloopy oily mess- this is after shaking the bottle. It also smells a lot like paint.

Colour match was not great but considering I had to pick up the wrong shade anyway i'm not going to mark it down too much in that department. I applied it to my face using my beauty blender and the result was a patchy, mis coloured mess. It also seemed to remove all the concealer I had previously applied. There was also zero coverage from this foundation and again, like the concealer, I ended up applying another coat (as well as more concealer) before I was satisfied to move on.

 

PRESSED POWDER. I picked up the 'Smoothly does it' pressed powder in the shade 'natural beige 2'. Again I had to go for this shade as it was the lightest in stock- it would not have been my first choice colour match. However, swatching it on the back of my had it looked fairly decent. As far as pressed powders go, it was ok. I wasn't massively disappointed and really it did what it is supposed to do. Cannot complain too much here to be honest. One thing I will say is that it does have a rather strange aroma to it which is kind of indescribable.

 

EYEBROWS.

One thing I was really impressed with is the 'All about the brow' eyebrow kit. I was happy to see that Poundland had an option for brows rather than just a pencil (purely because I cannot for the life of me use eyebrow pencils). There was only the one kit to choose from, however there are 3 different shades and a highlight present in the kit.

I went for the second darkest shade and have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the colour. It was easy to use and- bonus- there was no strange smell to this product! Honestly this may even be a product I use again.

 

EYESHADOW. I wasn't really sure at the time of purchase what eye look I wanted to achieve. In terms of colours, again, there was not much for me to choose from at all. I ended up choosing two 'do the duo' palettes in the shades 'Nutmeg 2' (LEFT) and 'Wonderland 9' (RIGHT).

I used the lightest shade in the Nutmeg pallet as my base and built on top of that colour using the darker brown from the same pallet. I have to say that these eyeshadows could be easier to use. The seemed to clump together more than blend and I felt like I used up more time than needed to actually produce a mediocre result. I then took the silvery/ brown colour from the Wonderland pallet and worked this into my crease before finishing off with the charcoal in my outer corner.

Again, I didn't enjoy using these eyeshadows. I do however feel that they would be perfect for younger children who are wanting to play around and with mummy's make up.

 

EYELINER.

Im so sorry to say it but I actually hated this eyeliner. It was difficult to use, the brush was far to thick and spiky for my liking. Now although I admit that i'm not the best at applying eyeliner, I know I can get a far better result. I am really disappointed with this product and it honestly went straight into the bin. Big thumbs down from me!

 

MASCARA.

The mascara really did not do much for me at all until I applied at least 3 coats. I do like the shape and size of the wand head however so this softened the blow of having to use so much product to get any sort of result. To be honest if it got to the end of the month and I ran out of my mascara and was waiting for payday, I would pick this up as an alternative for a few days or so. All in all not the worst product I used during this experiment.

 

CONTOUR AND HIGHLIGHT.

I used the 'Define and conquer' contour kit in the shade 'Light 1'. Given that the contour shade is very close to the colour of my make up brush I wouldn't necessarily call this pallet light. It came out very orange and I spent a lot of time blending the shade out as an attempt to make it look presentable.

I'll be honest when I say that I did not use the 'highlight' in this pallet. This is simply because I attempted to swatch it on the back of my had and only got a thin layer of oil with the slightest hint of colour.

Instead I used the 'Glide away' eyeshadow stick that you can see pictured below. Whilst this wasn't the most conventional form of highlight it actually did give off a rather nice sheen and I wasn't massively disappointed with the result.

 

LIP LINER AND LIPSTICK.

I managed to find a lip liner and lipstick that matched- hallelujah! 'Pout it out' lip liner in shade 'Nude 1' and 'All about the pout' lipstick in the shade 'Perfectly nude 1' are actually a great match for each other. When I came to use the liner however I was disappointed as it was very sharp and very hard. Whilst I like the colour I do find the formula to be drying which is a shame.

The lipstick however is smooth and creamy and build able. It applies sheer but if you apply 4-5 coats you can get it to full opacity. Compared to the dryness of the liner this is lovely and moisturising.

 

BEFORE AND AFTER

*Please ignore my tired haggard face in the before photograph haha!*

Overall the photographed version of my final full face doesn't look too bad. Whilst it took me a lot longer than it should have done to achieve it, i'm actually mildly pleased with my eyeshadow result. The colour of the lipstick is pleasing and the colour match of my eyebrows to my hair is spot on! What you cannot see very clearly however is the patchy and mis matched foundation. You can see in my under eye area where I have absolutly zero coverage.

All in all it has to be a thumbs down for Poundland' 'Make up gallery collection'.

However considering my full face cost me £12 I am not going to knock it immensely.

At the end of the day you pay for what you get. I cannot purchase an entire collection for £12 and expect it to have the most amazing products I will ever come across.

I hope you enjoyed my little take on the full face testing idea. It was honestly really fun and has made me want to do more!

I would really be interested to doing a full face of children's make up or Primark make up. (I actually have a list ready to go on my phone so expect more posts soon!)

XO

 

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page